Gaminglives – A year ago from right now.

A year ago my brother from another mother known as Victor was making alot of noise on twitter about something he wrote on the internet here I figured I’d give it a read. I was working at the time so any excuse not to do what i get paid for was a good one, after finishing reading vics i think i went on to read a few previous posts from people I didn’t know.
“i can write stuff like that” i thought
how fucking wrong was i?
I look back at my first post “tweet nothings” like you look back at that first secondary school photo your mum took- WTF was I thinking? either way I sent it off to the email address on the site and figured what the hell. Below’s a copy of the first email I sent exactly 1 year ago as of right now.
—– Original Message —–
From: Justbiglee
To: submissions
Sent: Sunday, January 10, 2010 7:03 PM
Subject: submission from justbiglee
greetings.
vic had tweeted a link to his post yesterday and i really liked the site, it was nice to read a gaming site that was more of an opinion for a change rather than just news new news all the time. anyway after spending the best part of the morning deciding which of my thoughts on gaming to put to writing i have started at the thing which got me to the site. hope its up to scratch i’m normally at my best when ive got somebody to bounce off. any way hope its of use feel free to tell me if its naff.
From:Markuz
Sent: Sunday, January 10, 2010 7:37 PM
To:Justbiglee
Subject: Re: submission from justbiglee
Hey Lee 🙂
Thanks for the compliments on the site – it’s exactly what we’re going for, we’re not into all this industry news malarky.  Everything should be from the perspective of the writer with no slants towards any corporation or cause… just pure thoughts from gamers!
Article was great, I’ve never actually used Twitter myself although Lorna has gone as far as to set up a Gaming Lives account so none of the other gaming sites get in there before us and make us look like twats by posting nonsense on it.  I made a couple of word changes here and there, but haven’t adjusted anything that you were saying or the points you were trying to make.  Feel free to have a look over it and tell us to put it back to how it was – your words are your own property after all 🙂
We’ve just published Ben’s first article and I have another going up tomorrow, then Mark Boss has his first article on Tuesday, Greg on Wednesday so it’s looking like yours will be published on Thursday if that’s cool with you?  If you’re wanting a biog page like the other authors, we’re looking for something around 130 words or more plus a photo that we can crop down to 160 x 160.  It depends on whether you want this to just be a one off or if you fancy writing more?
I named the article Tweet Nothings, hope that’s cool with you :))
Thanks again for the submission, and hope to hear from you soon!
Mark
and that was how it all got started. I’ve made some awesome friends over the last year and had some awesome experiences, (you ever been for a drive in a lambo cop car?)
I’ve wrote some crap and I’ve wrote some good stuff – cant make my mind up what my favourite is though, it’s either “another glorious day in the core” or “guy gamers
So a year on and I’d like to say thanks to anybody who’s ever looked at the site, left a comment on our facebook and retweeted a tweet.
Other than being a reminder of how my life at gaminglives got started this post is mostly a message and a big thanks to Mark and Lorna, for replying to that first email, deleting my commas, putting up with my shit, letting me look after the twitter & facebook accounts, listening to my dumb arse ideas, opening their home and being good – sorry. AWESOME friends!
Tagged

2 thoughts on “Gaminglives – A year ago from right now.

  1. MarkuzR says:

    Awwww dood 😀

    Seems like a lifetime ago now, eh? I have Victor to thank for a lot of stuff… the remote control I’ve still not sat down and configured (sorry!), introducing me to the iPhone (which I still ended up avoiding), turning up with vodka and wine on one of our darkest days… and bringing Justbiglee into our little corner of the world!

    It’s been one hell of a ride, and there’s no way I’m getting off. It’s very rarely that my life is injected with undiluted awesomeness, but GL has made that happen in spades.

    Enjoy the pie.

    M ❤

  2. Lorna says:

    See, proof that you really are soppier than you let on 😉 In all seriousness, this is why M started up the site in the first place, to give people a friendly platform and a place to call home, should the community grow. And grow it has, thanks in a large part to you and your hard work.

    It has been a fucking fantastic year and we consider that we’ve made some great friends – proud to count you among them. You’re the best, even if you were jammy enough to snag a Lambo ride. Also, that last pic is one of my favourites form last year – good times.

Leave a Reply

