I’m Breaking Up With You…

This one originally came about as a spawn from that “gamestations sinister survey” post I did on here. I was asked if I was planning on sending it in to gaminglives but truth is I didn’t think it was very good. So I took another run at it outlining all the things wrong with gamestation and high street retail in general. It was a massive 1600 word rant that ended with the words “gamestation I’m breaking up with you”, then I thought “awwwww shiiiittttttttttt” so I decided to rewrite the whole thing which you can read below and I did submit.

Look, we need to talk.  I’ve been thinking about, like… well… usa lot lately and I, well erm… look this isn’t easy OK.  Maybe you should sit down. I don’t need you to say anything, just please listen to me, this is important… it’s about us.  I really need to you listen to me right now so I’ll start at the beginning, it’ll be easier that way. We’ve been doing this thing that we’ve been doing since I was 16, and I thought I’d never love anybody else like I loved Electronics Boutique who was taken away from me far too early.  I’ll be honest, I do still think about EB once every so often and I wonder what could of become of us, but then you came along and took her place.  We’ve had some great times over the years, you bore me my first Xbox and, later, a GameCube. Then, just as I thought our relationship was starting to go flat, we were blessed with the greatest gift of all: an Xbox 360.

Do you remember? It was Thursday; man it was cold that night. I stood outside for what seemed like hours while my brother was inside working. He had to wear a white boiler suit and an Xbox beanie hat; he was smashed out of his face drunk that night, he really liked that job. You teased me that night though didn’t you? Made me stand outside, you could have let me in but you wouldn’t, you couldn’t be seen to be giving me preferential treatment. I didn’t understand it at the time, but I do now that I’m a little older. Do you remember all those other late nights? Some people say they were stupid but I really enjoyed them; Halo 3 was packed and so was the Gears of War 2 one.  Oh my god, do you remember the Resident Evil 5 launch? I felt so bad for you that night, I can’t believe nobody came. We really did have some great times, and I don’t regret anything, it’s just that you’ve become increasingly difficult to have a relationship with lately and I don’t know if you’re doing it on purpose, but you’re pushing me away. It hurts.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

